Posted by: endobitch | August 12, 2009

Weekly Rant

This is a new segment on Endobitch. It’s kind of a filler segment to keep us all connected in between our longer blog posts.

Every week, we’ll offer up a short little ditty (Endobitch: Meaning, a question or thought…) on an important or controversial topic for your consideration. We’d love to have you – our followers – weigh in on these “mini-posts.”

 Be well!

 Rant #1

Okay. So we all know that endo often starts when we’re teenagers, right after our first period begins. But somehow, this fact is lost on the rest of the world. We’re posting a short blurb from an article on Connect for Kids that deals with this very topic.

We’d love it if you would read this short excerpt, check out the video of a teenager with endo that went misdiagnosed – and then rant away with your thoughts and comments.

Endometriosis in Teens Often Misdiagnosed

Wednesday, January 31st, 2007                 Emily Halevy/CWK Producer

So often, a young women’s severe cramps are written off as something she has to get used to.” – Robert B. Albee, Jr., M.D., gynecologist

Over five million U.S. women suffer from a disease that very often goes undiagnosed. And for two-thirds of those women, the condition begins during their teenage years.

19-year-old Bethany Monroe is one of them. She woke up one morning in severe pain.

“It was awful – it was just – I, I didn’t want to be awake,” she remembers. “I just wanted to go to sleep, ‘cause it was so bad. It was just a constant throbbing and really sharp pain.”

The diagnosis: endometriosis – an abnormal growth of tissue in the pelvic area. It can cause inflammation, severe pain and sometimes infertility. And doctors say they’re seeing it more often today, in teens.

“The question would be are we starting to open our eyes more and making the diagnosis earlier, or are we truly seeing more of it,” says gynecologist Dr. Robert B. Albee, Jr. He thinks many doctors are just more aware of endometriosis now.

Either way, it’s often misdiagnosed. Bethany was told she had kidney stones; another doctor said appendicitis.

Dr. Albee says there are two reasons why it often takes time for a correct diagnosis. One, he says, “I think that a lot of people start with symptoms that are not necessarily specific.”

Another, he says, is “ignorance. Not considering the diagnosis – there are doctors that don’t believe teenagers can have ‘endo’. What a shame.”

Responses

  1. I’m happy to see recognition of the disease increasing and girls getting diagnosed more often than before with endo, hopefully it only get’s correctly diagnosed more and more.

    My beef is with the vid. WTF was that quote that “Doctors say that 91% of those with endo are cured by surgery”? There’s NO FRIGGIN WAY I believe that. First, there’s no cure, and second I’m on my 3rd surgery, wouldn’t those odds say I’d be cured now after 3 of em? Boooo.

    Good to see you back endobitch. I missed ya!

  2. I remember my first period well because I was not looking forward to it. It came quietly but I also remember being a teenager & incapacitated in bed when I had my cycle as no meds would get rid of all the pain & also bleeding so much I thought I was hemorraging, my mother liked to accuse me of being pregnant because I got so bloated. Fuck, thanks Endo!!
    It’s a shame now to be in my 30s & had to kill the shit out of my uterus with 2 ablations to try to control the bleeding. I wish there were other treatment options not something drastic like that or barbaric like an IUD or “medical menopause” to cure it. I also think the get pregnant theory is total BULLSHIT too.

  3. That just ticks me off because I’m going through this trouble with doctors right this minute. I’ve had problems since I was 12 and worsened by 14. Now I am 21 and I’m still having issues and every doctor I go to writes it off as “Normal”.

    One time I went in with very sharp pain in the side of my abdomen when my flow started. So bad I had to go see the doctor ASAP. He just told me that “there’s nothing on that side. It’s just a pulled muscle” Yeah.. right with a fever of 100 and severe pain? Went home and got flu side effects and puked. Only the nurse was concerned.

    Recently, had a pap to check for “fibroids” and the doctor didn’t even feel for them. A female mind you, and I was in HORRIBLE pain during the exam. So much I sweated and screamed. When she was done, I asked if that was normal. She said it is if it’s your first time. Mmhmm. when i talked about my bad periods “It’s a common thing in women. Maybe later we’ll put you on birth control.”

    Pfft… I really am starting to mistrust doctors. I’m tired of their BS. SO yes, this topic Teed me off. Sorry, if I gave TMI but they need to take this more seriously. It’s still going on…

    • C students can be doctors too. I had no idea what I had but was in severe pain. Finally, I called my out of town aunt(gyno) who told me endo. I googled, symptoms matched. You need to look for doctors/gyno’s that specilized in endo or you will never get the necessary results.

      I found one, made an appt for a consult. Researched, came in knowledgeable and demanding(important that you are not passive) and said I have endo, I don’t have this: (everything tested for), here are my symptoms and health history, I’ve read up and want to operate. The convo went on to discussing risk of the surgery and other treatment options to maintain, but surgery was scheduled.

      Diagnosis: I have endo, had lots of scare tissue. Weren’t able to remove all. Managing with birth control to limit the number of periods -endo grows when you cycle, the growths bleed and scar when you cycle causing pain. Spots ARE relevant cause they cause scar tissue – and it doesn’t just grow on your uterus wall- I have scars and spots on my colon where they were not able to remove.

    • Hey – I went through the same thing as a teenager. You NEED to find another doctor. Go through like Kleenex until you find one that helps you. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through all this is that you must take control of your health because the Dr.s certainly don’t.

  4. Pain in endometriosis usually arises from injuries to pelvic nerves. Injuries result from straining on the loo (may be as early as infancy or toilet training) or childbirth or surgery. The spots of endometriosis are largely irrelevant.

    Diet, bowel habit, exercise, avoid stress, etc are all important.

    http://www.endometriosisexplained.blogspot


Leave a Reply

Categories

